Sometimes, it’s best to just jump in and burn your tongue

Posted on Updated on

I sat down at the small table, caressing my coffee cup as if it were hooked up to an IV that was saving my own life. My best friend sat opposite me, doing the same. It was a deceitfully beautiful day outside, with bright blue skies and a glaring sun. Yet, it was so frigidly cold that those who favor outdoor winter sports were sporting their snowboarding and skiing jackets simply to go about their day.

“So,” I said, after successfully burning my tongue out of my eagerness for my daily cup of heaven, “when are we going on that road trip? I’ve already started looking around, and there are a few national parks we can choose from. We definitely want to do a lot of hiking and camping, and maybe some rock climbing thrown in. I want fabulous pictures from wherever we go. It’s a priority. So what do you think?”

She shifted in her seat, her eyelids heavy with laziness. “Look, I don’t know dude. I know I said that I’d go, but I’m really not up for hiking.”

“Well how do you know how you’ll feel when we leave? I’m not asking you to hike today,” I said, knowing full well that she was throwing her adventurous drive into reverse and once again, backing out on our plans.

“I don’t know, I just wish I could be adventurous.”

I put my coffee down on the fake wooden table. I sat there for a minute, absorbing the words she had just spoken.

“You wish you could be adventurous.”

“Yeah.”

“Why can’t you?”

“Well I don’t have time to do that stuff, or gear, and I don’t know if I could do it.”

My blood began to boil slightly. Maybe it was the Italian side of me, I don’t know.

“You can do whatever the fuck you want. You realize that, right? All those people who have hiked mountains or completed marathons, or scaled rocks or beat their personal time for cycling, they are doing what they want. And you will never hear them complain for even a second. You are the only person stopping yourself from doing what you want and from being adventurous. Everybody has lazy days, sure. But you’re part of this vast society of constantly lazy, complaining wishers. That’s almost as bad as saying “I wish I read books.” Here’s a concept: walk to the library or the book store and pick up a book and read it. Instead of tweeting about it or sitting here complaining to me how you wish you were more of something else, why don’t you just go and do it.”

She sat there, kind of just nodding absently.

“So what are you going to do about it?”

“About what?”

“About being more adventurous.”

“What do you mean?”

I nodded for a second. She hadn’t listened to a single word I’d said.

“Some people really can’t be saved, dude. Have a good day.”

I got up and walked out, opening the door into the glaring sun and the frigid winds. I think I’d rather deal with the harsh elements of adventure than the harsh elements of our society, anyways.

15 thoughts on “Sometimes, it’s best to just jump in and burn your tongue

    thadley3384 said:
    November 18, 2013 at 3:44 pm

    Why do you think people wouldn’t want to go out and do something exciting and adventurous anyway?

      michellebourget responded:
      November 19, 2013 at 7:53 pm

      People tend to stick to their usual routines of “wake up, school, work, eat, crash” and get so consumed and pressured by their own life cycles that they forget about the “living” part, I think.

    mofoley3314 said:
    November 18, 2013 at 4:02 pm

    I appreciate your overall point here but I wonder if you consider that people nowadays are trained by our society to be, effectively, “useless”?

      michellebourget responded:
      November 19, 2013 at 7:55 pm

      Not necessarily. I tend to disagree with their tendencies, that doesn’t make them “wrong” or “useless” to me. I’m not a perfect person either, and I’m fully aware of how easy it is to slip into that cycle and let the days, months and years slip by you. I simply wish that people would be more open to trying things; you truly are the only one stopping you.

    Meredith Winnett said:
    November 18, 2013 at 4:05 pm

    This is a brilliant post. It starts out very poetic, then BAM! Get out there and do what you want to do! What are some tips you might have for the less adventurous that might get them motivated to get out there?

      michellebourget responded:
      November 19, 2013 at 7:58 pm

      To just do it! On a kind of unrelated topic, I recently asked my friend how (since he’s such a health food nut) he resists eating junk food. What was the solution? There has to be some kind of trick, I thought. I have such a sweet tooth. He responded with a laugh, and said that it’s surprisingly simple. He just doesn’t eat it. We make every single one of our decisions. No matter what the motive is, we still make that choice. I don’t have to eat junk food, and people need to know that there’s no “secret” to be adventurous.

    priceus4life said:
    November 18, 2013 at 4:28 pm

    What would be an adventurous day? I agree, for myself, I need to be a little bit more adventurous then sticking with the daily routines. I believe at times life can be repetitive- especially when stuck on a college campus

    Jess Dickerman said:
    November 18, 2013 at 4:38 pm

    what is the best adventure you have ever been on?

      michellebourget responded:
      November 19, 2013 at 8:03 pm

      The best adventure I think I’ve ever been on had to be this summer, when I went to New Hampshire with my (now ex) boyfriend. I called it my adventure weekend. It was ideal: no cell phone service, rock climbing, hiking, camped out by a river. Gorgeous views and virtually perfect weather, on top of the kind nature of the people visiting up there. Sometimes it’s so healthy to literally unplug and just wake up and realize that you have nothing to do but have an adventure. No matter how much you plan, you can never predict what’s going to happen on a trail or on the side of a rock face. I simply love it.

    Joe Compagna said:
    November 18, 2013 at 5:22 pm

    Are these posts based off of real life experiences or are they fictional?

    donnydubs said:
    November 18, 2013 at 7:34 pm

    Could you ever be ambitious enough to take a hike by yourself when everyone else is feeling lazy? I know that I would need a buddy with me to make the experience that much better.

    bobmarket said:
    November 19, 2013 at 5:29 am

    i totally agree with a lot of this post, i made it a point years ago to not complain about anything that i have control over, thats why i will complain about my appendix that exploded, but i wont complain about my weight when i eat muffins in the middle of the night and stop exercising for 6 months.
    have you ever had problems with wishing you could do something instead of doing it or have you always been more proactive in your life?

      michellebourget responded:
      November 19, 2013 at 8:11 pm

      Great point! Muffins are delicious. Some days I do admittedly get caught up with things I have to do (schoolwork, cleaning, responding to emails, etc) and spend all my time procrastinating and then complain that I have no time to do adventure things. I like to think that I’ve been better lately, but of course, “do as I say and not as I do.”

    jcast01109 said:
    November 19, 2013 at 5:38 am

    How was your first time hiking?

    jfrank8590 said:
    November 19, 2013 at 2:51 pm

    I love how you end this post. Do you think you could expand on what you meant by the harsh elements of society?

Leave a Reply

